Web Wiz - Solar Powered Eco Web Hosting

  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - textarea from database
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

textarea from database

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
pablo_montiel View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 09 December 2004
Status: Offline
Points: 16
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote pablo_montiel Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: textarea from database
    Posted: 09 December 2004 at 5:23am
Hi, I need some help to test how to retrieve data into the RTE_textarea.asp file from a database.

This example works:
     strEditorContent = "<div style=""text-align: center; font-family: arial,helvetica,sans-serif;""> <h2>Welcome to Web Wiz Rich Text</h2> Free replacement WYSIWYG Editor for your textareas </div>"

But I need to retrieve data into the strEditorContent, from the field Text of my database.


This is working fine in the textarea for NON rich text editors (message_forma_inc.asp):
<%=Replace(Replace(Text,"&","&"),"<","<")%>

But, WHAT must I write to get the same effect in the RTE_textarea.asp ???

Edited by pablo_montiel - 09 December 2004 at 5:23am
Back to Top
WebWiz-Bruce View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar
Web Wiz Developer

Joined: 03 September 2001
Location: Bournemouth
Status: Offline
Points: 9791
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote WebWiz-Bruce Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 December 2004 at 7:54am
Just display the data as you want it to be displayed in the text area in the RTE_textarea.asp as if it where a normal web page. IE. between the HTML <body> tags.

You can use the built in querystrings to pass across to the page which record to get from the database.
Back to Top
pablo_montiel View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 09 December 2004
Status: Offline
Points: 16
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote pablo_montiel Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 December 2004 at 8:40am
I have the following code in my default page, and it works fine with the NON rich text browser, Can you "more detail" explain me WHAT I should put in my RTE_textarea.asp to work ?

<!--#include file="RTE/includes/browser_page_encoding_inc.asp" -->
<%
'--- Querish Querystring ---'
Dim Requested, DelRecNo
Requested = Request.Querystring("Entry")
Delete = Request.Querystring("Delete")

If (IsNumeric(Requested) = False) OR (Len(Requested) = 0) Then Requested = 0

If Request.Form("Action") <> "Post" Then

'--- Open set ---'
    If (Requested <> 0) AND (Delete <> "True") Then
    Records.Open "SELECT * FROM Data WHERE RecordID=" & Requested,Database, 1, 3
    ElseIf Requested = 0 Then
    Records.Open "SELECT * FROM Data ORDER By RecordID DESC",Database, 1, 3
    Else

    Database.Execute "DELETE FROM Data WHERE RecordID=" & Requested
    Database.Close
    Set Records = Nothing
    Set Database = Nothing
    Response.Redirect(SiteURL & PageName)

    End If

If NOT Records.EOF Then

'--- Setup Variables ---'
   RecordID = Records("RecordID")
   Title = Records("Title")
   Text = Records("Text")

End If

Records.Close
%>
<Form Name="frmAddMessage" Method="Post" onSubmit="document.getElementById('Submit').disabled=true;"& gt;
<input Name="Action" type="hidden" Value="Post">
             <P><span id="Label1">Title : </span><input Name="Title" type="text" value="<%=Replace(Title,"""",""")%>" style="width:80%;" onChange="return setVarChange()"> </P>

             <P>Content :<br>
             <table border="0" cellpadding="1" cellspacing="0" width="100%">
                <tr>
                <td class="td01" align="left">

<%
'Change this to the path to your RTE files
Const strPathToRTEFiles = "RTE/"           'This needs to hold the path to the RTE files


'The form name/id for the Web Wiz Rich Text (RTE) textarea is 'message'
%>
<!-- include the rich text editor -->
<!--#include file="RTE/RTE_editor_inc.asp" -->



                </td>
                </tr>

             <tr>
             <td colspan="2">
             </tr>
                </table>
             </P>
Back to Top
WebWiz-Bruce View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar
Web Wiz Developer

Joined: 03 September 2001
Location: Bournemouth
Status: Offline
Points: 9791
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote WebWiz-Bruce Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 December 2004 at 10:56am
You need to open the database in the RTE_textbox.asp file and read the data into that file.

The RTE editor can't use the normal text area, instead the text area is actually an Iframe, what you are looking at is another page in an Iframe with design mode enabled.

Look at it as if the RTE_textarea.asp another web page that simply opens in an Iframe.
Back to Top
pablo_montiel View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 09 December 2004
Status: Offline
Points: 16
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote pablo_montiel Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 December 2004 at 12:35pm
I am really a newbie an sorry about my insistence.
If I use this (at RTE_textarea.asp):

     strEditorContent = "<div style=""text-align: center; font-family: arial,helvetica,sans-serif;""> <h2>Welcome to ...</h2></div>"

it works.-

But If I use:
       strEditorContent = Replace(Replace(Text,"&","&"),"<","<")

it says that the Variable TEXT is not defined (that Replace: works fine in the message_forma_inc.asp file, but not in the RTE_textarea.asp ).

So the question is:
What must I write after: ""strEditorContent = "" or what must I write to retrieve data from the TEXT field so I could EDIT the RTE message I posted before into the database ?

Thanks in advance.
Back to Top
WebWiz-Bruce View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar
Web Wiz Developer

Joined: 03 September 2001
Location: Bournemouth
Status: Offline
Points: 9791
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote WebWiz-Bruce Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 December 2004 at 2:06pm
This bit:-

--- Open set ---'

    If (Requested <> 0) AND (Delete <> "True") Then
    Records.Open "SELECT * FROM Data WHERE RecordID=" & Requested,Database, 1, 3
    ElseIf Requested = 0 Then
    Records.Open "SELECT * FROM Data ORDER By RecordID DESC",Database, 1, 3
    Else

    Database.Execute "DELETE FROM Data WHERE RecordID=" & Requested
    Database.Close
    Set Records = Nothing
    Set Database = Nothing
    Response.Redirect(SiteURL & PageName)

    End If

If NOT Records.EOF Then

'--- Setup Variables ---'
   RecordID = Records("RecordID")
   Title = Records("Title")
   Text = Records("Text")

End If


needs to be in the RTE_textarea.asp, as the RTE_textarea.asp file is an iframe it is a sepprate web page, so any variables used in this file need to be declared in this file.

Look at RTE_textarea.asp as a sepprate file, you may find it easier while sorting out the page to open the file RTE_textarea.asp in it's own browser window.

Right click in your browser on the textrea in the RTE and select 'open frame in new window'.
Back to Top
pablo_montiel View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 09 December 2004
Status: Offline
Points: 16
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote pablo_montiel Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 December 2004 at 3:43pm
thanks! I think I am near the solution by now BUT, there is an error: Expected 'END' in this code of my RTE_textarea.asp

Do you know where the problem could be ??

<% @ Language=VBScript %>
<% Option Explicit %>
<!--#include file="includes/RTE_setup.asp" -->
<!--#include file="functions/RTE_functions_common.asp" -->
<%


'Set the response buffer to true as we maybe redirecting
Response.Buffer = True

'Make sure this page is not cached
Response.Expires = -1
Response.ExpiresAbsolute = Now() - 2
Response.AddHeader "pragma","no-cache"
Response.AddHeader "cache-control","private"
Response.CacheControl = "No-Store"


Dim strEditorContent     'Holds the editors pre-filled content

Dim strQueryString1
Dim strQueryString2
Dim strQueryString3

strQueryString1 = Request.QueryString("QS1")
strQueryString2 = Request.QueryString("QS2")
strQueryString3 = Request.QueryString("QS3")


'--- Querish Querystring ---'
Dim Requested, DelRecNo
Requested = Request.Querystring("Entry")
Delete = Request.Querystring("Delete")

If (IsNumeric(Requested) = False) OR (Len(Requested) = 0) Then Requested = 0

If Request.Form("Action") <> "Post" Then

'--- Open set ---'
    If (Requested <> 0) AND (Delete <> "True") Then
    Records.Open "SELECT * FROM Data WHERE RecordID=" & Requested,Database, 1, 3
    ElseIf Requested = 0 Then
    Records.Open "SELECT * FROM Data ORDER By RecordID DESC",Database, 1, 3
    Else

    Database.Execute "DELETE FROM Data WHERE RecordID=" & Requested
    Database.Close
    Set Records = Nothing
    Set Database = Nothing
    Response.Redirect(SiteURL & PageName)

    End If

If NOT Records.EOF Then

'--- Setup Variables ---'
   RecordID = Records("RecordID")
   Text = Records("Text")


     strEditorContent = Replace(Replace(Text,"&","&"),"<","<")


End If

Records.Close
     

%>
<html>
<head>
<!--#include file="includes/browser_page_encoding_inc.asp" -->


<script language="javascript">
function enableDesignMode() {<%
If RTEenabled = "Gecko" Then Response.Write("     document.desig nMode = 'on'")
%>     }
</script>
<STYLE>
td {border:1px dotted #CCCCCC;}
</STYLE>
</head>
<body bgcolor="#FFFFFF" leftmargin="0" topmargin="0" marginwidth="0" marginheight="0" onLoad="setTimeout('enableDesignMode()', 20);">

<% = strEditorContent %></body>

</html>
Back to Top
pablo_montiel View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 09 December 2004
Status: Offline
Points: 16
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote pablo_montiel Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 December 2004 at 3:48pm
My ORIGINAL edit page, was this one (without RTE):

<DIV id=content>
<%
'--- Querish Querystring ---'
Dim Requested, DelRecNo
Requested = Request.Querystring("Entry")
Delete = Request.Querystring("Delete")

If (IsNumeric(Requested) = False) OR (Len(Requested) = 0) Then Requested = 0

If Request.Form("Action") <> "Post" Then

'--- Open set ---'
    If (Requested <> 0) AND (Delete <> "True") Then
    Records.Open "SELECT * FROM Data WHERE RecordID=" & Requested,Database, 1, 3
    ElseIf Requested = 0 Then
    Records.Open "SELECT * FROM Data ORDER By RecordID DESC",Database, 1, 3
    Else

    Database.Execute "DELETE FROM Data WHERE RecordID=" & Requested
    Database.Close
    Set Records = Nothing
    Set Database = Nothing
    Response.Redirect(SiteURL & PageName)

    End If

If NOT Records.EOF Then

'--- Setup Variables ---'
   RecordID = Records("RecordID")
   Title = Records("Title")
   Text = Records("Text")

End If

Records.Close
%>
<Form Name="AddEntry" Method="Post" onSubmit="return setVar()">
<input Name="Action" type="hidden" Value="Post">
             <P><span id="Label1">Title : </span><input Name="Title" type="text" value="<%=Replace(Title,"""",""")%>" style="width:80%;" onChange="return setVarChange()"> <a href="?Entry=<%=Requested%>&Delete=True" title="DELETE this entry" onClick="return confirm('Warning! If You Continue Entry #<%=Requested%> Will Be DELETED.')"><img src="<%=SiteURL%>Images/Delete.gif" width="15" height="15" border="0"></a></P>

             <P>Content :<br>
             <table border="0" cellpadding="1" cellspacing="0" width="100%">
                <tr>
                <td class="td01" align="left"> </td>
                </tr>

             <tr>
             <td colspan="2">
             <textarea Name="Content" DESIGNTIMEDRAGDROP="96" style="height:10em;width:100%;" onChange="return setVarChange()"><%=Replace(Replace(Text,"&","&")," <","<")%></textarea>
             </tr>
                </table>
             </P>


             <P></P>
             <Input Type="submit" Value="Save">
        </form>
<% Else
'Dimension variables
Dim EntryCat        &nbs p;   'Category

EntryCat = Request.Form("Category")

'### Filter & Clean ###
EntryCat = Replace(EntryCat,"'","'")
EntryCat = Replace(EntryCat," ","%20")

'### Open The Records Ready To Write ###
Records.CursorType = 2
Records.LockType = 3

    If Requested <> 0 Then
    Records.Open "SELECT * FROM Data WHERE RecordID=" & Requested,Database, 1, 3
    Else
    Records.Open "SELECT * FROM Data ORDER By RecordID DESC", Database
    End If

Records("Title") = Left(Request.Form("Title"),80)
Records("Text") = Request.Form("Content")

Records.Update
Records.Close

Response.Write "<p align=""Center"">Entry Update Successful</p>"
Response.Write "<p align=""Center""><a href=""" & SiteURL & PageName & """>Back</font></a></p>"

End If %>
</Div>

Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 12.07
Copyright ©2001-2024 Web Wiz Ltd.


Become a Fan on Facebook Follow us on X Connect with us on LinkedIn Web Wiz Blogs
About Web Wiz | Contact Web Wiz | Terms & Conditions | Cookies | Privacy Policy

Web Wiz is the trading name of Web Wiz Ltd. Company registration No. 05977755. Registered in England and Wales.
Registered office: Web Wiz Ltd, Unit 18, The Glenmore Centre, Fancy Road, Poole, Dorset, BH12 4FB, UK.

Prices exclude VAT unless otherwise stated. VAT No. GB988999105 - $, € prices shown as a guideline only.

Copyright ©2001-2024 Web Wiz Ltd. All rights reserved.